How to
Choose Tequila

Reposado or Blanco? Añejo or Extra-Añejo?

How many types of tequila are there?

All tequilas fall into one of five classes, depending on whether they’ve been rested or aged in oak barrels, and for how long. Each class carries its own unique set of characteristics.

Blanco / Silver / Plata

This transparent tequila doesn’t require any ageing at all. It’s simply distilled, aged for no longer than two months in a barrel, and then bottled.

How to drink

It’s best enjoyed straight from the freezer, served neat or incorporated into a cocktail like the Classic Margarita cocktail. It’s also known as Silver or Plata.


This is a rested tequila that has either been blended with a small amount of white tequila or has another variety of tequila added to it.

How to drink

Its bold flavour profile makes it perfect to be enjoyed neat. It can also add real depth to cocktails without overpowering them. Try it in a Margarita cocktail.


Rested for a minimum of two months in oak barrels, but never more than a year.

How to drink

Its rich, complex, and mellow flavour makes it a perfect sipping tequila. And amazing in a Ginger Highball cocktail.


This tequila is aged in small oak barrels for at least one year, and up to three years, in a maximum capacity of 600 litres.

How to drink

Because the añejo is aged for in an oak barrel for up to three years, it imparts a woody, comforting flavour that’s superb on the rocks or in a 1800 New Fashioned cocktail.


Extra-Añejo is a relatively new classification – established in 2006. Aged for at least three years in oak barrels, and often far longer, it’s an extra-aged tequila for connoisseurs to pour over.

How to drink

Enjoy neat or on the rocks and let the tequila do the talking.

Related topics

Join Our Community

Be the first to hear about new products, recipes, and freshly pressed news straight from Mexico.